Iele – Short-film walkthrough – Part 2: The story

Hey there, my friends!!! :mrgreen:

Sorry for my absence, I’ve been through a lot lately, and didn’t have time for what I like to do. I almost gave up making my film, but now I’m back with a new story and a lot of enthusiasm.

A little bit of advice: Films are like oysters (just like ogres are like onions :lol:, JK),  you have the shell which represents the consumer side of the film, and the squishy animal inside which is the content side, or the message. Here in Romania we have a little problem with merging these two, there are either consumer films or content films. Try not to do that too…let me tell you why. Let’s use the oyster metaphor again. If you only have the shell…it’s ok, it’s something nice, that you like watching, you put it on your shelf, you look at it, but….it doesn’t stir anything into your soul, it doesn’t breathe, it doesn’t live….it’s an empty shell. If you have only the animal inside….well, you know it’s alive, it has a story, a life, you will somehow connect (and if you know how to cook it it’s delicious too), but you can’t really look at it because it’s FUGLY as hell. 😆  Try to tell something with your film but also make it eye-candy.

In order to do so you need to write and rewrite your story as many times as necessary. Be ready to change the story, the characters … I know sounds like a hassle, and it is, but you want to make a good movie, don’t you. I know I do, it’s the 4th time I rewrite my script, I changed almost the whole story, my characters have now different biographies, and they react differently, because they are different persons now.

I had to do it because the story had a lot of flaws, there were a lot of unanswered questions, the characters were shallow … and so on and so forth.

The story has to have a structure!! Especially if you’re just starting in this industry. You can find more info on this on thescriptlab.com, they will tell you more about the Three Act Story and the 5 Plot Point Breakdown. You will need this in order for your film to have a nice flow and continuity.

Useful sites:

In English: http://thescriptlab.com/

In Romanian: http://creativemonkeyz.com/tutoriale/teoretice-01-cum-sa-spui-o-poveste/

All this can really put you down, I don’t even remember the times I wanted to give up, or I just didn’t have the urge to write … but sometimes just a song can put you back on track, if it’s inspiring in any way to you. What inspires me right now is: Skrillex – First of the Year(Echinox) and Bertine Zetlitz – Death in her room.

It’s a good idea to read your story to as many people as possible, this way you will find out if something is missing from your story, they will ask you really interesting things about it, things you haven’t thought about. Don’t get mad at them if they ask you something you cannot answer, but instead try to find an answer to that question together, ask them for ways to solve a problem, what they would like to see, how they would like a character to be, even if that would mean you have to change the story again … after all you are making movies for the public, not for yourself, so their opinion counts more than yours. 😉

This is all I have to say for today. See you soon, I’m getting back to writing biographies.

Thank you for reading, sorry for the bad English, typos, and the messiness, I suck at writing blogs(not a blogger, never will be).

Maddie C.

Leave a Reply

